FANDOM


Jackson History Edit

Jackson is a guitar manufacturer originally owned and operated by Grover Jackson, a partner of Wayne Charvel of Charvel Guitar Repair. It is probably best-known for its "Rhoads" V model guitar, originally designed and used by guitarist Randy Rhoads. This model inspired Grover to start the Jackson guitar company.

Wayne Charvel sold his interest in the Charvel name to Grover Jackson November 10,1978. The shop was located in San Dimas, California and manufactured guitars in this location from 1979 to 1986, when the Company merged with IMC (International Music Corporation) a Texas based importer of musical instruments.

Recently, rights to the Charvel name and permission to manufacture Charvel guitars was granted to the Fender Guitar Company. Fender is now manufacturing guitars that are almost exactly like the original San Dimas Charvels, save for a few details. In some cases the guitars are even being built from NOS Charvel parts.

Jackson Guitars has become most famous for its slender and elegant models, often with an aggressive look popular with harder rock and metal music and are known for their fast playing necks. This made them particuarly popular among extreme metal guitarists in the 80's and early 90's.

Almost all Jackson (and many Charvel) guitars share the typical pointed, roughly triangular headstock, which is simply a Gibson Explorer style headstock modified to avoid lawsuits. Charvel/Jackson was the target of many copyright lawsuits from Gibson and Fender which led to using the modified Explorer headstock. This also ended using Stratocaster styled headstocks for Charvel guitars. Various models, however (especially a good number of Dinkys) do have a reversed headstock with the tip pointing upwards.


Jackson players Edit

Player /Band/ Website

Bobby Hamilton         Chambered                   www.myspace.com/chambered
Andreas Klimmt        No God Innocent              www.nogodinnocent.com 
Angus Clark           Trans Siberian Orchestra     www.trans-siberian.com 
Annah Moore           Ignitor                      www.ignitor.org 
Anthony DeJesus       Autumn's End                 www.autumnsend.com 
Archaon               1349 *                       www.legion1349.com 
Ashmedi               Melechesh                    www.melechesh.com
Austin Dickinson      The Oath                     www.myspace.com/theoath454
Ben Moody             The Ben Moody Project        www.benmoody.com 
Bobby Hamilton        The Day We Confess           www.myspace.com/thedayweconfess 
Britt Lightning       Jaded                        www.jadedrockers.com 
Chris Beattie         Hatebreed                    www.hatebreed.com 
Chris Caffery         Savatage                     www.savatage.com
Chris Cannella        Autumn's End                 www.autumnsend.com 
Chris Elsten          Autumn's End                 www.autumnsend.com 
Christian Andreu      Gojira                       gojira-music.com  
Christian Olde        Fear Factory                 www.fearfactory.com 
David Pearson         Blissed                      www.blissed.biz 
David Wilde           Outkast                      www.outkast.net 
Derrick Green         Sepultura                    www.sepultura.com.br 
Donnie Mathis         Outkast                      www.outkast.net 
DR FL3TCH             Needleye                     www.needleye.net
Dre                   Outkast                      www.outkast.net 
Duane Jones           Swirl/770                    www.myspace.com/swirl 
Early Mike            Early Man                    www.earlymanarmy.com 
Ed Fuhrman            Hades                        www.hadesusa.com 
Frank Aresti          Fates Warning                www.fateswarning.com
Geoff 'free' Breen    Blissed                      www.blissed.biz 
George Mihalovich     Aftershok                    www.aftershok.com 
Glenn Rogers          Hirax                        www.hirax.org 
Hamish                My Dying Bride               www.mydyingbride.org
Hanny Mohammed        Black Majesty                www.blackmajesty.com 
Harlan Von Helthor    Astriaal                     www.elementalist.net/astriaal/ 
James Root            Slipknot / Stone Sour        www.slipknot1.com 
Jeff Miller           Blissed                      www.blissed.biz 
Jimmy Bower           Down / Eyehategod            www.down-nola.com www.eyehategod.com 
Joe Konczal           Time Lord                    www.myspace.com/timelordband 
Joey Turner           A Dozen Furies               www.adozenfuries.com 
John Campbell         Lamb of God                  www.lamb-of-god.com 
John Hehman           Year Of Desolation           www.yearofdesolation.com
Johnie Helms          Toby Keith Band              www.tobykeith.com 
Johnnie Middleton     Savatage                     www.savatage.com
Jon Ridens            Of The Son                   www.oftheson.com 
Jon Rubin             Malevolent Creation          malevolentcreation.cjb.net 
Jonas Torndal         Grave                        www.grave.se 
Joseph Duplantier     Gojira                       gojira-music.com
Jure Nemec            Nasty / Turbo / Vabe         www.myspace.com/turbopowerofmetal
Iavor Bojinov         New Revival                  www.myspace.com/newrevival
Karl Sanders          Nile                         www.nile-catacombs.net 
Ken Jacobsen          Unleashed Power              www.unleashedpower.com 
Kevin Bond            Superjoint Ritual            www.superjointritual.com 
Lance Harrison        Hirax                        www.hirax.org 
Lenny DiSclafani      Agnostic Front               www.agnosticfront.com 
Marcus Sunesson       The Crown                    www.thecrownonline.com 
Mark Morton           Lamb of God                  www.lamb-of-god.com 
Mark Serrano          A Dozen Furies               www.adozenfuries.com 
Marvin Vriesde        Dew Scented                  www.dew-scented.de/ 
Matt Aub              Time Lord                    www.myspace.com/timelordband 
Matt Crooks           Division                     www.division-usa.com 
Matt Tuck             Bullet For My Valentine      www.bulletformyvalentine1.com/ 
Metal Mike Chlasciak  Halford                      www.robhalford.com
Michael McGregor      Bionic Jive                  www.myspace.com/bionicjive 
Mike Blevins          Division                     www.division-usa.com 
Mike Halland          Crushed                      www.crushed.net 
Nornagest             Enthroned                    www.enthroned-horde.com 
Ola Lindgren          Grave                        www.grave.se
Phil Collen           Def Leppard                  www.defleppard.com 
Phil Demmel           Machine Head                 www.machinehead1.com
Phil Fasciana         Malevolent Creation          malevolentcreation.cjb.net
Randy Davis           Body Of Scars                www.bodyofscars.com
Ric Eubank            Face Down                    www.facedownlfv.com 
Rob Cavestany         Death Angel                  www.deathangel.com 
Ryan Furr             Of The Son                   www.oftheson.com 
Sam Wallace           Lachrymal                    www.lachrymal.co.uk 
Scott Habermann       Scott Habermann Project      www.scotthabermann.com 
Scott Hull            Pig Destroyer                www.pigdestroyer.net 
Scott Krell           Face Down                    www.facedownlfv.com 
Serj Tankian          System of a Down             www.systemofadown.com 
Shawn Whitaker        Insidious Decrepancy         www.insidiousdecrepancy.net
Symon Alhaddad        Vaticide                     www.vaticide.net 
T.C.S.                Devane                       www.myspace.com/devane 
Terry Syrek           Mindwalk                     www.terrysyrek.com 
Zakk Wylde            Ozzy Osbourne                www.ozzy.com

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.